Commissioner Porter Announces Railroad Commission Chairman Vote: Supports Commissioner Craddick as Chair


AUSTIN – Railroad Commissioner David Porter announced today that he has placed an item on the agenda for the next meeting of the Railroad Commission of Texas, to elect Christi Craddick the new Chair of the Commission. The vote will take place during the Commission’s Aug. 12 open meeting.

“The Railroad Commission is on track to deal with some of the largest and most important issues the agency has ever faced next year,” said Commissioner Porter, who has served on the commission since 2010. “I believe the time for new leadership is now.”

The upcoming vote will replace sitting Chairman Barry Smitherman with colleague and fellow Commissioner, Christi Craddick. Smitherman’s term as Railroad Commissioner ends in late 2014.

“Commissioner Craddick is a strong, and proven leader that has an equally good legislative experience to take us into the next session on even ground,” said Commissioner Porter. “I will be honored to support Commissioner Craddick for the position of Chair. Christi and I enjoy a strong working relationship, and share a passion for providing a regulatory environment that encourages job growth as well as protection of property rights and our natural resources.”

Commissioner Porter said of the outgoing Chairman, “I would like to thank Commissioner Smitherman for his time as Chairman, and I wish him all the best in the next stage of his career.”


David Porter was elected statewide to the Texas Railroad Commission on November 2, 2010. A Certified Public Accountant and successful small business owner, Commissioner Porter has worked with oil and gas producers for nearly three decades providing strategic financial advice and tax counsel. He has a long record of pro-business, free market, conservative credentials.