
RAILROAD COMMISSION OF TEXAS 

Oil and Gas Division 

________________________________ 

NOTICE TO OPERATORS 

Groundwater Protection Determination 

Application Fee and Surcharge 

The Railroad Commission of Texas (Commission) has adopted amendments to 16 Texas 

Administrative Code §3.78 (Statewide Rule 78), regarding Fees and Financial Security 

Requirements.  Effective February 1, 2016, an application fee of $100 is required for a 

Groundwater Protection Determination. The application fee is also subject to a 150 percent 

($150) surcharge required by Statewide Rule 78(n). Therefore a total of $250 must be remitted to 

the Commission with each Form GW-1, Groundwater Protection Determination Request Form.    

When filing the Form GW-1 online, you may also make payment online. For additional 

information on filing the Form GW-1 online and submitting the required fee online, visit the 

Commission’s website at https://www.rrc.texas.gov/oil-and-gas/applications-and-permits/
groundwater-advisory-unit/.

When filing the Form GW-1 via email or fax, you may make payment by contacting the 

Commission’s Public Sales Section at 512-463-6882. If you send the application via U.S. mail 

or overnight service, include a check for the appropriate amount. 

For further information regarding the adoption of these amendments to Statewide Rule 78, 

please contact Norman Gearhart at norman.gearhart@rrc.texas.gov or 512-463-2937.   

For a limited time, documents related to the rulemaking process will be available on the 

Commission’s website at https://www.rrc.texas.gov/general-counsel/rules/proposed-rules/.  

______________________________________________________________________ 

PLEASE FORWARD TO THE APPROPRIATE SECTION OF YOUR COMPANY 

Austin, Texas February 1, 2016 
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