#### **RAILROAD COMMISSION OF TEXAS**

Oil and Gas Division Environment Permits P.O. Box 12967 Austin, TX 78711-2967

# APPLICATION FOR OIL AND GAS WASTE HAULER'S PERMIT

WH-1 Rev 4/94 WWW-1

READ INSTRUCTIONS BELOW

TYPE OR PRINT USING BLACK OR BLUE INK

1.	Hauler name and address exactly as shown on P-5 Organization Report, including city, state and zip code.		2. Hauler P-5 Organization No.		
			3. Purpose of filing Initial permit application		
			Amendment of permit no.		
			Annual renewal of permit no.		
4.	Number designation of all Railroad Commission districts where the hauler will pick up, transport or dispose of wastes.		signation of all Railroad Commission districts where hauler vehicles are housed.		
th	CERTIFICATION: I certify that I am authorized to make this application, that this application was prepared by me or under my supervision and direction, and that the data and facts stated herein are true, correct, and complete to the best of my knowledge. If the above-named hauler is a corporation, I further certify that it is either subject to and not delinquent on the State of Texas Franchise Tax or exempt from or not subject to the tax.				
Signature		Name (type or print)			
	itle	Phone	Date		

#### **INSTRUCTIONS**

# Form WH-1: Application for Oil and Gas Waste Hauler's Permit Reference: Statewide Rule 8(f)

## WHO MUST FILE

A person who transports oil and gas waste for hire by any method other than by pipeline off a lease, unit, or other oil and gas property for disposal as required by Statewide Rule 8(f).

**Note:** A person may haul oil and gas waste for use in connection with drilling or servicing an oil or gas well without obtaining an oil and gas waste hauler permit.

#### PERMIT APPLICATION

A non-refundable fee of \$100 must be filed with each application for issuance, renewal, or material amendment of an oil and gas waste hauler permit. The check or money order should be made payable to "Railroad Commission of Texas". The following are not considered to be material amendments of an existing permit: addition or deletion of vehicles on the WH-2 and addition or deletion of an approved disposal/injection system on a WH-3.

#### INITIAL PERMIT APPLICATION

- 1. File a Form P-5, Organization Report, along with the appropriate financial security with the Commission in Austin.
- 2. File an original of each of the following forms with the Commission's Director of Environmental Services in Austin as soon as you have received your P-5 organization number.
  - a. Form WH-1: Application for Oil and Gas Waste Hauler's Permit
  - b. Form WH-2: Oil and Gas Waste Hauler's List of Vehicles
- c. Form WH-3: Oil and Gas Waste Hauler's Authority to Use an Approved Disposal/Injection System See General Instructions below.

## RENEWAL PROCEDURES

The Commission's Austin office will mail a renewal notice to you approximately 60 days before your permit expires. The notice will include a pre-printed Form WH-1, preliminary lists of approved vehicles and approved disposal/injection systems, and instructions on the renewal process. See General Instructions below.

## GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

- 1. When the completed application is approved, the original Form WH-1 will be returned to you and will serve as your permit. At the same time, you will receive Permit Attachment A (Waste Hauler's Vehicle Identification) and Permit Attachment B (Approved Disposal/Injection Systems). Each vehicle must carry a copy of the permit including those parts of the Commission–issued attachments listing approved vehicles and Commission-permitted disposal systems that are relevant to that vehicle's activities.
- 2. You must file a Form WH-3 with the Commission in Austin before using any system that is not shown on your current Permit Attachment B (Approved Disposal/Injection Systems). After the Form WH-3 is approved, you will be sent a revised Permit Attachment B with that system included.

FRANCHISE TAX CERTIFICATION: House Bill 175 (70th Legislature) states that a corporation may not be granted a permit unless it is current on Franchise Tax payment or is exempt from or not subject to tax. A false certification will result in permit revocation.

# OIL AND GAS WASTE HAULER'S PERMIT (To be completed by the Commission)

	No is hereby issued to to the conditions below.
	PERMIT CONDITIONS
A.	This permit authority is limited to the hauling, handling and disposal of oil and gas waste off a lease, unit, or other oil and gas propert
В.	This permit authorizes the permitted hauler to dispose of oil and gas waste only at the following disposal/injection systems:
	Commission-permitted disposal/injection systems for which a Form WH-3 has been submitted and which are listed on Permit Attachment B (Approved Disposal/Injection Systems).
	disposal systems operated under authority of a minor permit issued by the Commission; and
	<ul> <li>disposal systems permitted by another state agency or another state provided the Commission has granted separate authorization for the disposal.</li> </ul>
C.	Each vehicle must be marked on both sides and in the rear with the permitted hauler's name (exactly as shown on the P-5 Organizat Report) and permit number in characters not less than three inches high.
D.	This permit authorizes the permitted hauler to use only those vehicles shown on the Commission-issued listing of approved vehicles, Permit Attachment A (Waste Hauler Vehicle Identification).
E.	Each vehicle must carry a copy of this permit along with a copy of those parts of Permit Attachment A (Waste Hauler Vehicle Identification) and Permit Attachment B (Approved Disposal/Injection Systems) that are relevant to that vehicle's activities.
F.	Each vehicle must be operated and maintained in such a manner as to prevent spillage, leakage, or other escape of oil and gas waste during transportation.
G.	The permitted hauler must make each vehicle available for inspection upon request by Commission personnel.
H.	The permitted hauler must compile and keep current a list of all persons by whom the permitted hauler is hired to haul and dispose of oil and gas waste and furnish such list to the Commission upon request.
I.	The permitted hauler must adequately train all drivers to ensure compliance with Commission rules, including record keeping requirements, and adherence to proper emergency response and notification procedures.
J.	The permitted hauler must keep a DAILY record of the oil and gas waste hauling operations of each approved vehicle. The daily record signed and dated by the vehicle driver, must be kept open for Commission inspection and must contain the following information:
	<ol> <li>Identity of the property from which the oil and gas waste is hauled (operator name, lease name and number or other facility name or number, and county; and</li> </ol>
	2. Type and volume of oil and gas waste received by the hauler at the property where it was generated;
	<ol><li>Identity of the disposal system to which the oil and gas waste is delivered (operator name, lease name and number or system name, well number or system permit number, and county); and</li></ol>
	4. Type and volume of oil and gas waste transported and delivered to the disposal system.
K.	This permit is not transferable without the consent of the Commission.
L.	This permit expires on This permit, unless suspended or revoked for cause shown, will remain valuntil the expiration date.
	RRC Contact

Date of Permit Issuance

**Director of Environmental Services** 

(512) 463-\_\_\_\_