Fourth of July

In observance of the Independence Day holiday, the Railroad Commission of Texas will be closed Friday, July 3, 2020.

Smitherman Calls Al Armendariz Resignation "Good First Step"


MIDLAND –– Railroad Commission Chairman Barry Smitherman welcomed the resignation of EPA Region VI Administrator Al Armendariz as a good first step towards reforming the EPA. Smitherman led the charge to investigate Mr. Armendariz for improper statements and actions while Armendariz was EPA Region VI Administrator. 

“Mr. Armendariz' resignation is only the first step toward reforming the EPA's misguided policies.  I will not allow the Obama administration to use this resignation to shift the focus away from the EPA's abuses.  We must have a full investigation of Mr. Armendariz' actions during his tenure as administrator to determine how many times he crossed the line and harmed our economy and our energy future by pursuing his extreme political agenda instead of science and fact.”

“As we know from the Range Resources case, the EPA under Mr. Armendariz often misused their power by acting before they knew the facts.  This cost real jobs and real money – not only in legal fees, but by slowing down production and thereby increasing gas prices.  It’s not just Texas – we need a full investigation of all actions Armendariz took in all the Region VI states,” Smitherman concluded.


Chairman Barry Smitherman was appointed to the Railroad Commission of Texas in July 2011, and was elected Chairman in February 2012.  Chairman Smitherman currently serves as Texas’ representative on both the Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission and the Southern States Energy Board, and as Vice Chair of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners’ Gas Committee. He is on the Visiting Committee of the Bureau of Economic Geology with the Jackson School of Geosciences at The University of Texas at Austin, The University of Texas School of Law Center for Global Energy, International Arbitration, and Environmental Law, and the Eanes Education Foundation Advisory Board.